BASES Interest Groups  

Interest Groups provide an active forum for focused discussion, activity, and debate among BASES members and guests who share an interest in an identified area.

If you wish to join an Interest Group please email the relevant contact below.


Contact Name of Group Email
Adam Hawkey Biomechanics Interest Group (BIG) adam.hawkey@solent.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Bridge Coaching m.bridge@bham.ac.uk
Dr Richard Bracken Clinical Exercise Physiology r.m.bracken@swansea.ac.uk
Prof John Buckley Exercise for Health Practitioners j.buckley@chester.ac.uk 
Georgina Stebbings Molecular Exercise Physiology g.stebbings@mmu.ac.uk 
Ashley Cox Paediatric Exercise Science

23730170@edgehill.ac.uk

Prof Sue Backhouse Clean Sport s.backhouse@leedsbeckett.ac.uk


How to apply to set up an Interest Group

All Interest Groups must apply for approval by the Board and must meet the minimal requirements outlined below. An Interest Group can be formed providing it:

  • Has a Convener who is a Professional member of BASES
  • Has terms of reference (including a name, mission statement that is consistent with the Mission of BASES, and objectives that are consistent with the Association's objectives)
  • Is aligned within a Division of BASES
  • Can justify its relevancy to sport and/or exercise sciences
  • Can justify its uniqueness from existing BASES Interest Groups
  • Has a membership of no less than 20 or 1% of total BASES membership (whichever is lower). A register of members must be included with the application.

Applications for approval must be made via the BASES Interest Group Application Form

Please email your application to enquiries@bases.org.uk

About BASES

BASES stands for the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences. BASES is the professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK.

My Bases

My BASES

Contact us
  • Rooms G07 and G08 Fairfax Hall, Leeds Beckett University, Headingley Campus. Headingley, Leeds LS6 3QT
  • 0113 812 6162