BASES Committees


BASES operates a number of committees which help to manage the operations of the Association. Committees are made up of BASES members. Appointments to positions on the committees take place every year, with decisions announced at the BASES Annual Conference in November.

If you are interested in joining a BASES committee, more information about the roles and responsibilities of each committee can be found in the  Terms of Reference  document. 


Members of a BASES Committee or Task Group receive 5 CPD credits per year.

The Board

The Board manages the general affairs and policies of the Association.

Name Position
Prof Richard Tong FBASES Chair 
Tom Holden BASES Executive Director
Ian Wilson BASES Executive Director
Assoc Prof Adam Hawkey Deputy Chair / Chair of Division of Biomechanics & 
Motor Behaviour

Dr David Broom FBASES Chair of Division of Physical Activity for Health
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASES Chair of Division of Psychology
Dr Mike Price FBASES Chair of Division of Physiology and Nutrition
Dr Adam Grainger Chair of Division of Sport and Performance
Susan Went Non-Exec Director

Division Committee - Biomechanics and Motor Behaviour

Name Position
Assoc Prof Adam Hawkey Chair
Dr Andrew Mitchell Deputy Chair
Franky Mulloy      CPD Representative
Dr Theodoros M. Bampouras Membership Representative
Sean Hudson Student Representative

Division Committee - Physical Activity for Health

Name Position
Dr David Broom FBASES Chair
Dr Lindsay Bottoms Deputy Chair
Dr Miranda Armstrong CPD Representative
Dr Daniel Bailey Membership Representative
Chris Kite Student Representative

Division Committee - Physiology and Nutrition

Name Position
Dr Mike Price FBASES Chair
Dr Mark Faghy Deputy Chair
Dr James Gavin CPD Representative
TBC Membership Representative
Jennifer Barrett Student Representative

Division Committee Psychology

Name Position
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASES Chair
Dr Adam Gledhill Deputy Chair
Dr Denise Hill CPD Representative
Dr Ian Taylor Membership Representative
Liz Carlin Student Representative

Division Committee - Sport and Performance

Name Position
Dr Adam Grainger Chair
Dr James Hopker Deputy Chair
Dr Ibrahim Akubat CPD Representative
Dr Mark F Smith Membership Representative
Daniel Rothwell Student Representative

Appointments and Remuneration Committee

Responsible for recommending to the Board: Appointments to the BASES Divisions,  Remuneration of BASES paid staff and  Financial policies.

Name Position
Prof Richard Tong FBASES Chair
Dr Lance Doggart Fellow Representative
Prof Dominic Micklewright Fellow Representative

Prof Louis Passfield Fellow Representative
Susan Went Non-Exec Director

Accreditation Committee

The Accreditation Committee manages the BASES Accreditation Scheme.

Name Position
Tom Holden Chair
Neil Gibson Physiology Representative
Chris Barnes Physiology Representative
Prof John Saxton FBASES Physiology Representative
Dr Sarah Gilchrist Physiology Representative
Dr Mary Margaret Meade Psychology Representative
Dr Denise Hill Psychology Representative
Dr Paul Jones Biomechanics Representative
Dr Ian Sadler Pedagogy Representative

Lab Accreditation Review Group

The Committee reviews physiology accredited/re-accredited laboratories and directors.

Name Position
Prof Glyn Howatson FBASES Chair
Dr Charles Pedlar FBASES Reviewer
Prof Andy Jones FBASES Reviewer
Dr Jamie Pringle Reviewer
Dr Rhys Thatcher FBASES Reviewer
Dr Sarah Gilchrist Reviewer

The Sport and Exercise Scientist Editorial Advisory Board

The Editorial Advisory Board helps to shape the coverage and content of each issue of The Sport and Exercise Scientist.

Name Position
Dr Claire Hitchings FBASES Editor
Gavin Thomas Book and Resource Review Editor
Dr Bryna Chrismas Physical Activity for Health
Dr Paul Gorczynski Psychology
Dr Claire Rossato Psychology
Dr Neil Clarke Physiology and Nutrition
Prof Craig Sale Nutrition
Neil Gibson Sport and Performance
Dr Andrew Scott Physical Activity for Health
Dr Kiara Lewis  Physical Activity for Health
Dr Robert McCunn  Sport and Performance columnist 
Dr Shaun McLaren Sport and Performance
Dr Theodoros M. Bampouras Biomechanics
Dr Mayur Ranchordas Nutrition
Renee McGregor Nutrition

BASES Undergraduate Endorsement Scheme (BUES) Review Committee 

The BUES Committee manages the BUES scheme and reviewing of BUES applications.

Name Position
Kevin Robertson Chair
Dr Lisa Board FBASES Representative
Dr Helen Matthews  Representative
Dr Ian Sadler Representative
Dr Adam Gledhill Representative
Dr Elizabeth Pummell Representative

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee reviews all applications for awards and international conference grants.

Name Position
Dr Lee Taylor Chair
Dr Val Cox FBASES Conference Representative
Prof Edward Winter FBASES Representative
Prof Lars McNaughton FBASES Representative
Dr Mark Goss-Sampson Representative
Dr Anne-Marie Knowles Representative
Prof Ian Swaine Representative
Prof Andy Lane FBASES Representative

CPD Committee

The CPD Committee promotes and facilitates education, training and professional development for BASES members and organises BASES programme of high quality education workshops, webinars and events.

Name Position
Tom Holden Chair
Franky Mulloy Biomechanics Representative
Dr Miranda Armstrong Physical Activity for Health Representative
Dr Denise Hill Psychology Representative
Dr Ibrahim Akubat Sport and Performance Representative
Dr James Gavin Physiology and Nutrition Representative
Dr Andy Miles FBASES Co-opted

Safeguarding Advisory Group

The Safeguarding Advisory Group sets and reviews BASES Safeguarding and Welfare policies.

Name Position
Dr Andy Miles FBASES Chair
Clive Cook Representative
Dr Emma Kavanagh Representative
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASES Representative
Katie Richards Representative

Scientific Programme Committee

The Scientific Programme Committee co-ordinates the development and management of the Annual Conference programme.

Name Position
Prof John Saxton FBASES Chair
Dr Ian Taylor  Deputy Chair
Dr Florentina Hettinga Representative
Prof David Stensel Representative
Prof Craig Twist FBASES Representative
Dr David Broom FBASES Representative
Prof Lars McNaughton FBASES Representative
Dr Stuart Beattie FBASES Representative
Dr Lance Doggart FBASES Representative
Prof Mike Duncan FBASES Representative

Heads of Department Advisory Board

The Heads of Department Advisory Board is responsible for the designing of the programme for the annual Heads of Department Forum

Name Position
Dr Lance Doggart Chair
Dr Kiara Lewis Representative
Jocelyn Tantawy Representative
Dr Martyn Morris Representative
Dr Joanne Hudson FBASES Representative

BASES stands for the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences. BASES is the professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK.



Contact us
  • Rooms G07 and G08 Fairfax Hall, Leeds Beckett University, Headingley Campus. Headingley, Leeds LS6 3QT
  • 0113 812 6162