BASES Committees

board_meeting3

BASES operates a number of committees which help to manage the operations of the Association. Committees are made up of BASES members. Appointments to positions on the committees take place every year, with decisions announced at the BASES Annual Conference in November.

If you are interested in joining a BASES committee, more information about the roles and responsibilities of each committee can be found in the Terms of Reference document. 

bases_cpd_5pts_logo


Members of a BASES Committee or Task Group will receive 5 CPD credits per year.

The Board

The Board manages the general affairs and policies of the Association.

Name Position Email
Prof Richard Tong FBASES Chair  richard.tong@nptcgroup.ac.uk
Tom Holden BASES Executive Director tholden@bases.org.uk
Adam Hawkey Deputy Chair & Chair of Division of Biomechanics and
Motor Behaviour
adam.hawkey@solent.ac.uk
Dr David Broom FBASES Chair of Division of Physical Activity for Healthd.r.broom@shu.ac.uk
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASES Chair of Division of Psychology z.r.knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr Mike Price FBASES Chair of Division of Physiology and Nutrition aa5969@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Adam Grainger Chair of Division of Sport and Performance adam.grainger@hockey.ie
Susan Went Non-Exec Directorsusan.went@btinternet.com
Paul Scott Non-Exec Director scott.p.a@btinternet.com

Division Committee - Biomechanics and Motor Behaviour

Name Position Email
Adam Hawkey Chair adam.hawkey@solent.ac.uk
Dan Robbins Deputy Chair d.w.e.robbins@gmail.com
Franky Mulloy      CPD Representative
fmulloy@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Theodoros Bampouras Membership Representative t.bampouras@lancaster.ac.uk
Sean Hudson Student Representative s.hudson@leedstrinity.ac.uk

Division Committee - Physical Activity for Health

Name Position Email
Dr David Broom FBASES Chaird.r.broom@shu.ac.uk
Dr Valerie Gladwell Deputy Chair vglad@essex.ac.uk
Dr Miranda Armstrong CPD Representative miranda.armstrong@bristol.ac.uk
Position available Membership Representative
Chris Kite Student Representative kitec@aston.ac.uk

Division Committee - Physiology and Nutrition

Name Position Email
Dr Mike Price FBASES Chair Aa5969@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Neil Clarke Deputy Chair Neil.clarke@coventry.ac.uk
Dr James Gavin CPD Representative jgavin@bournemouth.ac.uk
Mark Tabrett Membership Representative mtabrett@glos.ac.uk
Jennifer Barrett Student Representative Jenni365@hotmail.co.uk

Division Committee Psychology

Name Position Email
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASES Chairz.r.knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
Prof Richard Thelwell FBASES Deputy Chair Richard.thelwell@port.ac.uk
Prof Zoe Knowles FBASES CPD Representative z.r.knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
Rachel Cunningham Membership Representative Rachel.cunningham787@yahoo.co.uk
Liz Carlin Student Representative carlin-l4@ulster.ac.uk

Division Committee - Sport and Performance

Name Position Email
Dr Adam Grainger Chair adam.grainger@hockey.ie
Dr James Hopker Deputy Chair j.g.hopker@kent.ac.uk
Ibrahim Akubat CPD Representative Ibrahim.akubat@newman.ac.uk
Position available Membership Representative
Daniel Rothwell Student Representative danielrothwell@hotmail.co.uk

Appointments and Remuneration Committee

Responsible for recommending to the Board: Appointments to the BASES Divisions,  Remuneration of BASES paid staff and  Financial policies.

Name Position Email
Prof Richard Tong FBASES Chair richard.tong@nptcgroup.ac.uk
Dr Aki Salo FBASES Representative a.salo@bath.ac.uk
Dr Lance Doggart FBASES Representative ldoggart@marjon.ac.uk



Accreditation Committee

The Accreditation Committee manages the BASES Accreditation Scheme.

Name Position Email
Kate Mills BASES Professional Standards Manager/Chair
Neil Gibson Physiology Representative n.gibson@oriam.hw.ac.uk
Chris Barnes Physiology Representative Chrisbarnes60@googlemail.com
Prof John Saxton FBASES Physiology Representative John.saxton@northumbria.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Gilchrist Physiology Representative sarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk
Dr Mary Margaret Meade Psychology Representative mm.meade@ulster.ac.uk
Dr Denise Hill Psychology Representative Denise.hill@swansea.ac.uk
Prof Joanna Wakefield-Scurr FBASES
Biomechanics Representative Joanna.wakefield-scurr@port.ac.uk
Dr Ian Sadler Pedagogy Representative I.Sadler@ljmu.ac.uk

Lab Accreditation Review Group

The Committee reviews physiology accredited/re-accredited laboratories and directors.

Name Position Email
Prof Glyn Howatson FBASES Chair Glyn.howatson@northumbria.ac.uk
Dr Charles Pedlar FBASES Reviewer Charles.pedlar@smuc.ac.uk
Prof Andy Jones FBASES Reviewer a.m.jones@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Jamie Pringle Reviewer jpringle@uka.org.uk
Dr Rhys Thatcher FBASES Reviewer ryt@aber.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Gilchrist Reviewer sarah@gilchristperformance.co.uk

The Sport and Exercise Scientist Editorial Advisory Board

The Editorial Advisory Board helps to shape the coverage and content of each issue of The Sport and Exercise Scientist.

Name Position Email
Dr Claire Hitchings FBASES Editor editor@bases.org.uk
Nick Adkin Book and Resource Review Editor nickadkin@gmail.com
Dr Bryna Chrismas Physical Activity for Health bchrismas@qu.edu.qa
Dr Paul Gorczynski Psychology Paul.gorczynski@port.ac.uk
Claire Rossato Psychology C_rossato@hotmail.com
Dr Neil Clarke Physiology and Nutrition Neil.clarke@coventry.ac.uk
Prof Craig Sale Nutrition Craig.sale@ntu.ac.uk
Rianne Costello Nutrition invictusperformancenutrition@gmail.com
Neil Gibson Sport and Performance n.gibson@hw.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Scott Physical Activity for Health Andrew.scott@port.ac.uk
Dr Kiara Lewis  Physical Activity for Health kiara.lewis@hud.ac.uk
Robert McCunn Sport and Performance columnist r.mccunn@hw.ac.uk
Shaun MclarenSport and Performances.mclaren@tees.ac.uk

BASES Undergraduate Endorsement Scheme Committee (BUES)

The BUES Committee manages the BUES scheme and reviewing of BUES applications.

Name Position Email
Kevin Robertson Chair kevin.robertson@northumbria.ac.uk
Dr Lisa Board FBASES Representative Lisa.board@sunderland.ac.uk
Dr Helen Matthews  Representative helen.matthews@salford.ac.uk
Dr Ian Sadler Representative i.sadler@ljmu.ac.uk
Adam Gledhill Representative adam.gledhill@leedsbeckett.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Pummell Representative e.pummell@kingston.ac.uk

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee reviews all applications for awards and international conference grants.

Name Position Email
Prof Joanna Wakefield-Scurr FBASES Chair Joanna.wakefield-scurr@port.ac.uk
Dr Val Cox FBASES Conference Representative v.cox@coventry.ac.uk
Prof Edward Winter FBASES Representative e.m.winter@shu.ac.uk
Prof Lars McNaughton FBASES Representative mcnaughl@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Mark Goss-Sampson Representative m.a.goss-sampson@greenwick.ac.uk
Dr Anne-Marie Knowles Representative Annmarie.knowles@strath.ac.uk
Prof Ian Swaine Representative i.l.swaine@greenwich.ac.uk
Prof Andy Lane FBASES Representative a.m.lane2@wlv.ac.uk

CPD Committee

The CPD Committee promotes and facilitates education, training and professional development for BASES members and organises BASES programme of high quality education workshops, webinars and events.

Name Position Email
Kate Mills BASES Professional Standards Manager/Chair kmills@bases.org.uk
Franky Mulloy Biomechanics Representative fmulloy@lincoln.ac.uk
Dr Miranda Armstrong Physical Activity for Health Representative Miranda.armstrong@bristol.ac.uk
Position available Psychology Representative
Dr Ibrahim Akubat Sport and Performance Representative Ibrahim.akubat@newman.ac.uk
Dr James Gavin Physiology and Nutrition Representative jgavin@bournemouth.ac.uk
Dr Andy Miles FBASES Co-opted apmiles@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Safeguarding Advisory Group

The Safeguarding Advisory Group sets and reviews BASES Safeguarding and Welfare policies.

Name Position Email
Dr Andy Miles FBASES Chair apmiles@cardiffmet.ac.uk
Clive Cook Representative Cook_clive@yahoo.ac.uk
Dr Emma Kavanagh Representative Emma.kavanagh@bournemouth.ac.uk
Dr Zoe Knowles FBASES Representative z.r.knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
Katie Richards Representative Katie_richards@hotmail.com

Scientific Programme Committee

The Scientific Programme Committee co-ordinates the development and management of the Annual Conference programme.

Name Position Email
Prof John Saxton FBASES Chair John.saxton@northumbria.ac.uk
Dr Keith Stokes FBASES Deputy Chair k.stokes@bath.ac.uk
Dr Florentina Hettinga Representative fjhett@essex.ac.uk
Prof David Stensel Representative d.j.stensel@lboro.ac.uk
Prof Craig Twist FBASES Representative c.twist@chester.ac.uk
Dr David Broom FBASES Representative d.r.broom@shu.ac.uk
Prof Lars McNaughton FBASES Representative mcnaughl@edgehill.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Beattie FBASES Representative s.j.beattie@bangor.ac.uk

Heads of Department Advisory Board

The Heads of Department Advisory Board is responsible for the designing of the programme for the annual Heads of Department Forum

Name Position Email
Dr Lance Doggart Chair ldoggart@marjon.ac.uk
Dr Keith Tolfrey FBASES Representative k.tolfrey@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Kiara Lewis Representative kiara.lewis@hud.ac.uk
Jocelyn Tantawy Representative J.Tantawy@tees.ac.uk
Dr Martyn Morris Representative martyn.morris@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Joanne Hudson FBASES Representative Joanne.Hudson@swansea.ac.uk
About BASES

BASES stands for the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences. BASES is the professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK.

My BASES

My BASES

Contact us
  • Rooms G07 and G08 Fairfax Hall, Leeds Beckett University, Headingley Campus. Headingley, Leeds LS6 3QT
  • 0113 812 6162