Sport Science PhD Studentships

  • Clifton Campus
  • 14th January 2022

Employer: Nottingham Trent University

Contract Type: Full-time, fixed term

Duration: 3 years

Bursary: £~15,700 per annum (UKRI)

Full description 

NTU has just announced the latest round of fully funded PhD studentships, including some excellent opportunities in Sport Science. Our mission is to create lasting, meaningful change throughout the world, and doctoral researchers are key to achieving that goal. This year we are inviting applications for projects that have been designed by NTU research staff. With world-class facilities, dedicated doctoral support and a growing portfolio of interdisciplinary and collaborative research programmes, NTU enables doctoral candidates in reaching their potential. 

Outlined below are specific projects in Sport Performance. Please contact the Director of Studies for the project with informal enquiries.

Determining the influence of sex hormones on central and peripheral aspects of motor function across the lifespan: Dr Jessica Piasecki (jessica.piasecki@ntu.ac.uk.


University-athletes experiences of transitions following release from a professional football academy: Dr Chris Saward (chris.saward@ntu.ac.uk).

Talent development in female field hockey players: a multidisciplinary perspective: Dr Chris Saward (chris.saward@ntu.ac.uk).


Elite male field hockey: training, development and performance: Dr Caroline Sunderland (caroline.sunderland@ntu.ac.uk).


Enhancing women’s elite rugby performance: Dr Caroline Sunderland (caroline.sunderland@ntu.ac.uk) & Dr Rachel Malcolm (rachel.malcolm@ntu.ac.uk).


Targeting the gut microbiota through diet to improve athlete health and exercise performance: Dr Neil Williams (neil.williams@ntu.ac.uk).


Use of 3D body scanning to examine the factors contributing to injury in elite academy footballers: Dr John Morris (john.morris@ntu.ac.uk). 

Further details for all the above projects and others in Sport Science are available at the link below: https://www.ntu.ac.uk/c/phd-studentships-at-ntu/s...

General enquiries about the above projects can also be sent to Dr Caroline Sunderland (caroline.sunderland@ntu.ac.uk). 

Package description

The studentship will cover: Tuition fees for Years 1-3 of PhD study at Nottingham Trent University and the thesis-pending fee (a reduced fee for candidates in completing their thesis) in Year 4. A stipend to be paid in monthly arrears in Years 1-3 of PhD study at Nottingham Trent University in line with UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) minimum rates. 

You can find further information on UKRI rates on the UK Research and Innovation website. 

Vacancy website address https://www.ntu.ac.uk/c/phd-studentships-at-ntu/s...

Vacancy email address doctoralschool@ntu.ac.uk

Share
About BASES

BASES stands for the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences. BASES is the professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK.

My BASES

My BASES

Contact us
  • Rooms G07 and G08 Fairfax Hall, Leeds Beckett University, Headingley Campus. Headingley, Leeds LS6 3QT
  • 0113 812 6164