The British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences

The Divisions

BASES has five Divisions, which exist to contribute to the management of BASES by implementing the strategy developed by the Board.

Division of Biomechanics and Motor Behaviour

Name Position Email
Adam Hawkey Chair adam.hawkey@solent.ac.uk
Dan Robbins Deputy Chair d.w.e.robbins@gmail.com 
Dr Jenny Burbage CPD representative jenny.burbage@port.ac.uk
Dr Sandy Willmott Membership representative swillmott@lincoln.ac.uk 

Division of Physiology and Nutrition 

Name Position Email
Dr Mike Price FBASES Chair mike.price@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Neil Clarke Deputy Chair neil.clarke@coventry.ac.uk
Dr James Gavin CPD representative jgavin@bournemouth.ac.uk
Mark Tabrett Membership representative mtabrett@glos.ac.uk

Division of Psychology

Name Position Email
Dr Chris Harwood FBASES Chair c.g.harwood@lboro.ac.uk
Dr Richard Thelwell FBASES Deputy Chair richard.thelwell@port.ac.uk 
Dr Zoe Knowles FBASES CPD representative z.r.knowles@ljmu.ac.uk
Dr John Perry Membership representative John.Perry@hull.ac.uk

Division of Physical Activity for Health

Click here to Exercise Referral research paper

Name Position Email
Prof Michael Duncan FBASES Chair aa8396@coventry.ac.uk 
Dr Valerie Gladwell Deputy Chair vglad@essex.ac.uk
Dr Miranda Armstrong CPD representative Miranda.armstrong@ceu.ox.ac.uk
Sam Jones Membership representative sam.jones1985@live.com

Division of Sport and Performance

Name Position Email
Adam Grainger Chair adygrainger@hotmail.com
Julie York Deputy Chair  skip.123@ntlworld.com
Ibrahim Akubat CPD representative Ibrahim.Akubat@newman.ac.uk
Craig Smith Membership representative craig_smith_9390@hotmail.co.uk