The British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences

Annual Awards Hall of Fame

Prof Tom Reilly Doctoral Dissertation of the Year Award sponsored by Routledge

2016 - Dr Mark Faghy, University of Derby

2015 - Dr Bert Bond, University of Exeter

2014 - No winner

2013 - Dr Jerome Durussel, University of Glasgow

2012 - No winner

2011 - Dr Stephen Bailey, University of Exeter

2010 - Heather Lunt, Portsmouth University

2009 - Dr David Fletcher, Loughborough University

BASES Masters Dissertation of the Year Award

2017 - Ryan Marshall, University of Sunderland 

2016 - Alan Chorley, University of Chester

2015 - Dr Owen Jeffries, Brunel University

2014 - Philip Hurst, Canterbury Christ Church University (former student of University of Sunderland)

2013 - Kevin Reeves, University of Portsmouth

2012 - Lauren Dennis, Roehampton University

2011 - Mustafa Sarkar, Loughborough University

BASES Applied Practitioner Awards

2015 - Dr Kevin Currell, English Institue of Sport 

2014 - Dr Charles Pedlar, St Mary's University

2013 - Dr Barry Fudge, English Institute of Sport

2013 - Sarah Hardman, English Institute of Sport

2012 - No winner

2011 - Prof David Collins, Grey Matters Performance

2011 - Dr Steve Ingham, English Institute of Sport

BASES Undergraduate Dissertation of the Year Awards

2015-16 - Lewis Clarke, Northumbria University

2014-15 - Aaron Greenhouse-Tucknott, University of Brighton

2013-14 - No winner

2012-13 - Richard Haines, University of Portsmouth

2011-12 - Aislinn D'Silva, University of Portsmouth

2010-11 - Thomas O'Leary, University of Portsmouth

2010-11 - Lee Wylie, University of Essex

2009-10 - Helen Barrett, University of Portsmouth

2008-09 - Adrian Sarjeant, University of Bath

2007-08 - Martin Dixon, Nottingham Trent University

2004-05 - Tom Loney, University of Bath

2003-04 - Beverley Ball, University College Chichester

BASES Early Career Researcher Awards


Dr Charlie Foster, University of Oxford

Dr Garry Tew, Sheffield Hallam University


Dr Glyn Howatson, Northumbia University

Dr David Fletcher, Loughborough University

Dr Anni Vanhatalo, University of Exeter


Dr Zoe Knowles, Liverpool John Moores University

Dr Mark Hamer, University College London

Dr Gareth Irwin, University Wales Institute, Cardiff

Conference Awards

Previous BASES Annual Conference Award Winners: Click here

Previous BASES Annual Student Conference Award Winners: Click here